About the Enneagram

by Helen Palmer:
 • The Limitations of Categorizing
 • The Inner Observer
 • The Narrative Tradition

by Marlene Cresci Cohen:
 • Applications of the Enneagram to Psychological Assessment


     With a history of centuries, the Enneagram is arguably the oldest human development system on the planet.  During the past decade, the system has undergone a renewal of scholarly attention within the context of current personality typologies.  The result is a reliable integration of psychological insight about human differences, set alongside a non-sectarian body of spiritual practice that relaxes inner resistance while encouraging inner receptivity.

     The word enneagram means a graph of nine.  Each of the nine Enneagram personality profiles has a distinct, well-developed coping strategy for relating to self, others and the environment.  In addition, each of the nine types has its own precise path to psychological and spiritual freedom, the key being compassionate and guided self-observation.

Introducing the 9 Types
The Mediator The Perfectionist The Giver The Performer The Tragic Romantic The Observer The Loyal Skeptic The Epicure The Protector     
1 The Perfectionist
2 The Giver
3 The Performer
4 The Tragic Romantic
5 The Observer
6 The Loyal Skeptic
7 The Epicure
8 The Protector
9 The Mediator
Use each of the 9 pages listed to explore a brief introduction to each of the Types, including a video.

Take an online Enneagram test to determine your personality type.